Go to Films |

The Commune

Coming Soon






Click to buy tickets.

Click to visit this film
Click to access the online press kit for this film.

Click here to visit Posteritati.com.


THE COMMUNE is a humorous, loving and moving portrait of a family who grows into a larger family and the pain that ensues as they slowly lose one another. It is a story in which a generation is confronted with their beliefs and becomes victims of their own ideals.

Trine Dyrholm and Ulrich Thomsen play Anna and Erik, an academic couple who decide to start a commune together with a group of close friends and eccentric personalities. With the family in the center of the story, we are invited into the dream of a real commune; we participate in the house meetings, dinners and parties. It is friendship, love and togetherness under one roof until an earth-shattering love affair puts the community and the commune to its greatest test yet.

Co-founder of the Dogme movement and director of multi-award-winning international hits such as FESTEN (THE CELEBRATION) and JAGTEN (THE HUNT), Thomas Vinterberg delivers yet another powerful drama that is sure to leave its mark. Vinterberg co-wrote the screenplay with fellow writer-director Tobias Lindholm. THE COMMUNE is the third film in their successful collaboration, which began on the critically acclaimed SUBMARINO. SUBMARINO premiered in competition at the 2010 Berlin Film Festival and received among others the prestigious Nordic Council Film Award.


Director: Thomas Vinterberg
Screenplay: Thomas Vinterberg & Tobias Lindholm
Based on the play “Kollektivet” by: Thomas Vinterberg & Mogens Rukov
Producers: Sisse Graum Jørgensen & Morten Kaufmann
Director of Photography: Jesper Tøffner, DFF
Editors: Anne Østerud & Janus Billeskov
Production Designer: Niels Sejer
Costume Designer: Ellen Lens
Make-up and hair Designer: Dennis Knudsen
Make-up designer: Marly van de Wardt
Sound Designer: Anne Jensen & Kristian Selin Eidnes Andersen
Composer: Fons Merkies


Anna Trine Dyrholm
Erik Ulrich Thomsen
Emma Helene Reingaard Neumann
Freja Martha Sofie Wallstrøm Hansen
Ole Lars Ranthe
Allon Fares Fares
Steffen Magnus Millang
Mona Julie Agnete Vang
Ditte Anne Gry Henningsen


Date for DVD release subject to change.